Our School

Principal’s Message

On behalf of the students, staff and Karoo community I extend a warm welcome to you and your family. We have a dedicated and highly professional staff at Karoo; our school is enriched by the School Values Respect, Responsibility, Excellence, Honesty and Fairness, Tolerance and Understanding which we strive to demonstrate every day.

Our intent is to build a community of active learners who can meet the challenges of our rapidly changing world and to become responsible global citizens. We want our students to have the skills, knowledge and personal attributes they need to leave Karoo Primary School and embark on future learning with confidence and resilience.

I am very proud of our school and trust that you will be too; there is a great sense of belonging that we all enjoy. In choosing Karoo Primary School, you have chosen a community that values the success of individuals, celebrates diversity and inclusiveness and recognises the importance of community.

We ask you to embrace opportunities to become involved in our school, whether supporting our classroom learning programs, special events and celebrations, as well as School Council and Karoo Parents Association. Your contributions are valued and long lasting in this exciting part of your children’s lives.

Our dedicated staff are committed to nurturing each child’s full potential with authentic and relevant learning experiences. Karoo staff set high expectations for student achievement, as our school implements the priorities of the Victorian education system as well as an alignment to identified school needs. There is an emphasis on the importance of providing all students with strong foundations in English and Mathematics, and also curriculum with a global context.

From browsing our website I trust you will notice the Karoo ‘sense of community’ that we pride ourselves on, and the emphasis we place on the wellbeing for all our students.

Leanne Vines


Karoo Primary School is located in Rowville, one of Melbourne’s outer eastern suburbs. The school opened in 1992 to accommodate the children of young families who moved to the area, with Mr Len McCarrick as the founding Principal. The school was established with 10 permanent classrooms, a gym, and music and art specialist rooms. The school opened with 100 students, with enrolments peaking at 721 in 2007.

Since our establishment, Karoo has seen great improvement based on the enrolment numbers and the needs of our students. The purchase of a number of relocatable buildings and constructions of a 6 classroom Learning Centre provided necessary learning and welfare spaces. The Building the Education Revolution enabled the construction of a Learning Centre comprising an open learning area surrounded by 4 classrooms. Through funding, grants and community contributions our grounds have been enhanced by additional play areas including extentions to our hardcourt areas, large areas of articifical turf, playgrounds covered with shade sails, athletics track, covered pathways and creative garden areas.

Our school Houses take their names from surrounding streets : Baringa, Murrindal, Kellbourne and Wyandra.

Karoo continues to evolve according to the needs of our students and today boasts 24 permanent classrooms including flexible learning environments, Library, Visual Art room, Performing Art room, Science room, Gymnasium and Multi-purpose centre, three covered playgrounds, hardcourt area and a large artificial turf area with athletics track, all set amongst beautifully landscaped grounds.

Flagged entry


Karoo has a highly professional team of staff members, who are enthusiastic, dedicated educators commited to learning, and bringing out the very best in our students.


Leadership Team

Principal: Mrs Leanne Vines
Assistant Principal: Mrs Danielle Heatley
Learning Specialists: Mrs Robyn Mowat, Mrs Simone Vitas

Teaching Staff

Year 6 team: Ms Michelle Davies (Leader), Ms Rachael Arkley, Ms Gemma Wild
Year 5 team: Miss Sophie Brown (Leader), Mrs Dianne Eva, Mrs Kim Davidson
Year 4 team: Miss Tanya Mollica (Leader), Mrs Alex Watson, Mrs Robyn Mowat (LS), Mr Josh Maroney
Year 3 team: Mrs Robyn Harris (Leader), Mr Matt Leeson, Miss Claire Moyle
Year 2 team: Mrs Karen Corrales (Leader), Mrs Simone Vitas (LS), Mr Joshua Edwards
Year 1 team: Mrs Fiona Marker (Leader), Mrs Alisa Hardware, Mrs Naomi Simpson
Foundation team: Mrs Emma Finnerty (Leader), Mrs Melanie Siddans, Miss Rebecca Barton
Specialists: Mr Josh Maroney (Leader), Ms Amy Batchelor, Ms Jess Cole, Mrs Jemimah Main, Mr John Oldham, Miss Zoe Zhang

Tutors: Mrs Michele Murray and Mrs Amy Ellis

Support Staff

Education Support Staff: Ms Maria Dale, Mrs Michelle Fleming, Mrs Robyn Guzzardi, Mrs Jayne Hagan, Mr Tim Lai, Mrs Kerry Legg, Mrs Cei Marasco, Mrs Lisa McDonald, Mrs Marina White, Ms Lindsey Whitehouse, Mrs Joyce Young

Student Wellbeing Officer: Miss Celeste Dolphin

Office Administration

Business Manager: Mrs Sue Baxter
Administration: Mrs Sally Goyne, Mrs Anna Nicolas, Mrs Karen Sexton, Mrs Kerry Legg

Outside School Hours Care

Mrs Melissa Newlands (Co-ordinator), Mrs Michelle Coulsen (Assistant Co-Ordinator), Mr Tim Lai, Mrs Rosanna Matzouris, Mrs Jodie Mitchell

School Council

School Council is a legally formed body that is given powers to set the key directions of the School. It is the major governing body of the school and decides future directions for the school and oversees the school’s operation. The role of School Council is to:-

  • Set the broad direction and vision for the school
  • Lead school community conversations about key issues and challenges in education
  • Prepare and endorse the school’s Strategic Plan
  • Ensure that an Annual Report is made available to the school community
  • Develop, review and update policies
  • Exercise a general oversight of the buildings and grounds ensuring that they are kept in good order and condition
  • Regulate and facilitate the after-hours use of school premises and grounds
  • Ensure that the school is responsive to the needs of the local community



Sub-committees assist the work of School Council by exploring key strategic issues in more detail than is possible at a School Council meeting. They provide opportunities to involve and utilise the expertise and experiences of members of the school community (and wider community) who are not members of school council.

There are six sub-committees of the Karoo PS School Council:

  • Education Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Buildings & Grounds Committee
  • Outside School Hours Care Committee
  • Marketing & Grants Committee
  • Fundraising Committee


How is our school council elected?

Each year, School Council elections take place in Term 1 and the process must be completed by 31st March. The Principal is responsible for conducting the election, although may appoint a person to act on her behalf for one or more of the purposes of the election. A letter detailing the number of vacancies and terms is uploaded to Compass during February, inviting parents to nominate for this special school requirement. School councillors are elected for either a two-year or one-year term.

There are two separate representatives within a school community:

  • Parent representative
  • Department of Education and Training (DET) employee representative


Karoo PS school council members

DET Representatives: Leanne Vines, Danielle Heatley, Robyn Mowat, Alex Watson, Sean Lock

Parent Representatives:

Ben McFarlin – President
Sam Forder – Treasurer
Mark Oudshoorn – Secretary
Sarah Elliott
Robyn Howard
Fiona Robinson
Jasmin Meaker
Stephanie Spyropoulos
Surhey Tuck
Janna Wright